Problems, problems, problems?

On my way to lunch yesterday I passed by a couple of conversations. Yes, I eavesdropped. In the most polite way. Just a short overhearing of the conversations as I walked by. I notice to my disappointment that they ware all negative. All discussions were around problems or how to tackle something negative about to happen.

It is not wired that people discuss problems. Not at all. I would say (without any scientific research)  that many, if not the majority, of all conversations are based in a problem.

But I did reflect over what a failure it must be for a company to have so many of these discussions. Where people need to have strategies and tactics to go about a coming problem rather than put that energy into be involved in a topic before it even becomes a problem. Would it not be fab to be part of something that is driving for success rather than failure? And what does this say about leadership and organizational culture?

I recognize this from my newly engagement in local politics too. Everything is about fixing things rather than create things.

Isn’t that a failure?

2 thoughts on “Problems, problems, problems?

  1. I think it’s generally human nature to look for problems – even when they don’t yet exist. I tend to be a “worrier” so I have solutions in my mind for problems that *might* come up – that way I’m better prepared if they do – statistically I have far fewer problems actually occur than I have solutions for them LOL.

    1. I think so to. It is part of stoneage mentality “if the bear comes out of the woods I need to…” But I still believe that the energy in an organisation could much better if it was spent on the involvment of creating things.

Leave a Reply

