Surprise

Yesterday I turned 40! It is not a lot but it is respectful. The Mr had been working the nightshift but my boys, my darling boys, celebrated me with a song and a giftcard.

I spent the day at a client, a client where I also had friends. From two I got a giftbasket with wine, cheese, assorted goodies and a film (This is 40 – whatelse).

Returning home all the boys were busy bees in the kitchen, cooking (which the Mr does 10 out of 10 times when he’s home, so that wasn’t really a surprise ) and fixing. A lovely dinner with them awaited. On the dining table stood 40 roses with a hand written card (by Fabian) “Congratulations to our beloved mom, Fabian, Samuel, Tobias and Buddy”. Naturally I teared up.

IMG_3527.JPG

IMG_3530.JPG

I sat down and just contemplated over how lucky I was, with these three fantastic people around me.

The doorbell rang and there two of my best friends stood. Naturally we had food for them as well. The doorbell rang once again and additional four of my friends stood there.

I have never understood the people who can’t stand surprise parties. I have always looked with envy to the characters in films who have had friends jumping out behind sofas and from closets to celebrate someone. But yesterday I finally got my own.

I admire the smartness of the Mr to never have thrown me one before as this really blew me away. All that – for me!

Returning to bed after many glasses of wine I felt gratitude to an extent that I never had felt before.

9 thoughts on “Surprise

Leave a Reply

