Remember the dimensions

Positive feedback is great. It does wonder for the soul. Starting as a freelance/consultant was the best thing I have ever done when it comes to feedback. I personally claim that my work keeps the same quality as before, but I receive far more positive feedback then I can remember I have ever received before. Maybe it says more about leadership at my previous employer than about me, but I am the one gaining the most.

A picture is really easy to provide feedback on. It demands less of the receiver to process then eg. a text like this. A gentle push on a screen and, hey presto, a small heart or a thumbs-up turns into love and affirmation.

One must also remember that a picture is also easy to alter. A way to make reality look a liiiiittle bit prettier than it really is. When I do selfies, which I do (more than some but less than others) I, as the photographer I am, always edit them slightly. I keep the shape and the wrinkles but I enhance the light and the contrast etc. All working in my favor.

I don’t think this makes a me a bad person, I think it is quite basic and drilled deep down in our DNA to try to look the best we can (all probably tightly connected to reproduction). But still, the number of likes and positive comments I received sharing my latest selfie as profile picture on Facebook, actually made me a little uncomfortable.

Don’t get me wrong, I L.O.V.E all the likes and really nice comments and I wouldn’t trade them for the world. But parts of me really hope that all these nice people pushed the screens because they liked all of me, not only my pretty edited face.

That they love the fact that I laugh a lot, that I am quick-witted, my sense of humor, my straight-forwardness, my ability to express the full story of things, my charm, my kindness and warmth for those I love, the fact that I meet people as equals until they show me that they think that I am not, my “I do not take shit” approach, my belief in justice and all that.

I guess what I am saying is that I hope we always remember all dimensions of things. Whether it’s when liking a picture or reading a news article.

Louise kl. 11.08
My very little edited me and she who has not fixed her hair or anything
Leave a Reply

