Perspective

Last night, when I lay down in my medium hard bed, with my “medium to warm” duvet, my head was filled with the images from the shores of Turkey, the central station in Budapest, the boarders of Syria and the young children caring for their infant siblings. Somewhere among the pictures of men and women, holding the lifeless bodies of their sons and daughters, I emotionally tuned out. I understood, but I couldn’t feel the pain.

I understand it this is my survival mechanism turning on.

I understand how lucky I am. To be able to set limits for my pain only by looking at a pictures of devastation.

And I understand that the least I can do is to feel grateful. Grateful for the life I am leading. Grateful for what I have.

I usually don’t tell people what to do, and I’m not saying that you don’t have your problems worth worrying about. But today I ask you for perspective and feel grateful for what you have.

2 thoughts on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

